“Follow Your Heart”

A very belated happy new year, everyone! I’ve been busy with actual work and then busy with nothingness when I’m not working, hence my late blogging start to 2016.

I don’t know what you thought when you saw this title today. Frankly, this could go a couple directions. I could shred this known phrase in a passionate rage. I could point out with Scriptures about how following through with this phrase could be dangerous. Or on the flip side, I could speak glowingly about it. I could even detail how each and every Disney animated film ever has used this concept, whether or not the phrase is actually uttered.

So which am I going with today?

The truth is, I’m not going with any one of those. Today, I want to share a song with you that, upon having read the title, I thought, “Oh, no, I hope this isn’t what it looks like.” I was surprised at the meaning applied and found that my hope had not been in vain.

I wanted to open 2016 with this: Whether or not you’re the sort to make new year’s resolutions (I’m not), make a conscious effort to flip the direction of the phrase’s pronoun, that is, from yourself to God. The world is full of people following their own hearts, their own standards, their own rules. They end up with all the wrong things to live for. Be different, pattern yourself after Christ, and you’ll find so much more to live for. And the great thing is, the more you grow in Christ, the more of Him there is to grow into.

So in your face, Disney. I have a higher duty than to my heart.

Leave a Reply

