One Month Later…

Oops, another month gone by. I need to quit doing that.

So since the last time I posted, I’ve been at my job for almost two weeks now. So far, it’s been alright. New stuff to learn, new procedures to get used to, and remembering that I now have to do some of the stuff that I had left to the boss at the old place (which, so far, isn’t as intimidating as I thought it’d be).

I say “almost two weeks”, because I worked my first three days and then had two off to attend the Christian film conference I’d attended last year. I really enjoyed my time there and didn’t want the weekend to end when it did. I’d have been happy if it continued on Sunday and maybe even bled into Monday…. This year I enjoyed more too, partly because of some tweaking to how certain aspects were run, and I think largely because I liked the topics more (or maybe it’d be more correct to say I liked the presentation thereof more? anyway). It was a very good time and I even reconnected with a boy I’d met last year (besides the one who’s in my area) and talked to new people. And I came to the realization that the short video I’ve been working on doesn’t actually have an ending, a good resolution. So my mates and I will have to figure out what to do about that….

My last post also mentioned some continuing education. I’ve decided to go with an Accounting Systems Certificate, which won’t necessarily help toward becoming an accountant (not that I want to be, at this point), but it will help me be more familiar with a couple commonly-used accounting programs if nothing else. This past weekend, I took Excel Level 1 and oh boy, was that a waste of time and money! I already knew about 99% of everything that was taught and ended up being incredibly bored the whole time. Hopefully Excel Level 2 (coming up next month) will prove more useful. The upside of my boredom in class though, is that I realized how grateful I am to my previous boss for having shown me almost everything I do know in Excel.

So that’s all that’s new and exciting with me for now. I mean, the only other real things of note are that I consciously commemorated Hobbit Day (September 22, the date of Bilbo and Frodo’s birthday) by wearing the One Ring, a bead bracelet reminiscent of Bag End, and a necklace of an Elvish cloak-pin; I also just finished re-watching the LotR films (extended, of course); and I went shopping by myself… for clothes… which was an odd experience as I don’t think I’ve ever done that… but I also found a nice box set of The Hobbit extended edition films and Disney’s Treasure Planet, so that was a definite perk!

Leave a Reply

